Slow it down. Breathe it in.

A curling iron cord.

That’s what almost did me in the other day.

Really? A cord? A silly, long, tangled, un-obliging cord.

I had already used the curling iron, a couple hours earlier, and put it back away. Just as I was ready to leave, though, I noticed a piece of hair that I either missed or it decided to be unruly. Either way, it needed a quick turn in the iron. Because I was rushing, I didn’t unwind the cord like I should have and it turned into a mess.

Set it on the counter. Breathe. Try again.

It worked that time. I just had to slow myself down. The first time, my fingers were working too fast for their own good and created a bigger mess. Once I slowed down, I was able to detangle because I was taking the time to pay attention to the details of what I was doing.

Do you sense an analogy coming? =]il_fullxfull.298574146

I can’t say that any part of my own life feels rushed right now. In fact, everything seems to be stuck in a timeless warp of not moving. But, gosh… I’ve been that crazy person.  I’ve fought with cords, with friends, with myself. Always rushing, moving ahead, faster than, going – going – going.

To what? More frustration, bigger tangles, and useless arguments.

I was reminded while fighting with the curling iron cord that so many parts of our lives just need a little more attention. A bit more tenderness. And a lot less rush. We need to stop, set it down, breathe, and try again.

There are so many Scriptures that talk about slowing down, waiting on God, being patient. While those passages don’t necessarily apply to the “curling iron cord” incident, the premise is the same. We need to just slow ourselves down sometimes and be more thoughtful about our approach.

When we slow down, we gain a heart of wisdom.

                Psalm 90:12 (ESV)12 So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

When we are still, we can depend on the One who holds our future.

                Psalm 46:10 (a) (ESV) 10 “Be still, and know that I am God.”

In Luke 10, Jesus gives us permission to sit at His feet and just listen.

               Luke 10: 38-42 (ESV) 38 Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, 42 but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

I was thankful that all I was doing was fighting with a cord and was reminded to slow down. The hope is, for all of us, that when we build a solid foundation with the little things, it will then develop into a well rooted foundation for when the big things do come along. When slowing down is crucial. When listening for direction, guidance, and wisdom is needed, we’ll have trained ourselves to be in less of a hurry and more dependent on Him.

5 thoughts on “Slow it down. Breathe it in.

  1. I know better than anyone the waiting game. Not sure if you remember the times where I was laid off and had so much time on my hands! Remember? It is when the living room and dining room in the Detroit house had all the woodwork stripped and redone with a new coat of stain! Also my basket weaving days! LOL Good times! You have crafts you can do also! I am thinking you will not be without anything to do for much longer!! Praying for you

    1. Yep, I remember! Part of me longs for all that busyness again, but then I realize that I’m putting my purpose in being busy and not in Him. These times have been trying, but they haven’t been without lessons that I will hold close for a long time to come.

  2. Great post and analogy! We all need to slow down when it comes to our relationships and life, and listen to God’s Spirit. The Lord knows how often I would pick up my life again in a certain category…. But the Lord says, “No, not yet.” So I respect it and wait. Lots of waiting. But in the mean time, I can now see how the last five years have been a “detangling” time for me. I recognize more and more why God put me on “hold” in certain things. I still work for His glory… Never stopped. In fact, I do certain ministries BETTER because He put me on hold in those other ways. A marvellous mystery. It is understood now, that God knew I was emotionally and internally tangled from my disaster, 5 years back. I guess that explains why I had trouble sorting certain thoughts out. He knew He had to unwind me. Jesus is so good. In the mean time, I have never been so prolific in ministry, song writing, and blogs. God gives me strength. And I know He will uphold you as well.
    Please keep up the writing! :~)

    1. Thank you, Curtis! So often, when we are able to “detangle” our thoughts and our minds, we can see things much clearer. I know that God has brought you through this season and has used you in mighty ways! You’ve built relationships with people, ministered to people, shared your music, and your experiences with so many people. Your season of waiting has not be for naught, my friend!

Leave a Reply

