And then, BAM! I live in Texas.

I’ve been having a hard time with this first blog post, from my new home. In part, I feel like I have too much to share. In part, I don’t know what to share and what not to share. And finally, some of it is really good and some of it is a struggle.

All in all, it’s a bit overwhelming because there is just so much in my head, heart…

I’ll start with the good, easy stuff… like the drive down. It was really good! The three vehicles were: mine in the lead, my mom behind me driving the rental truck, and my man child taking up the rear in his own car. Aside from having to be constantly aware of the other two vehicles the whole time, it was a good trip. I had a plan to listen to Pride & Prejudice on my way down, but that only happened occasionally. The rest of the time I prayed. And cried. And worshipped. And obsessed over the other vehicles in my care.

I was fortunate to have my mom stick around a few days to help me get some things done. Within a week, everything was unpacked and put away. I suppose that is one good thing about not working, but also one bad thing. I rushed through doing everything and then ran out of stuff to do. =]~

I’ve realized that I am way too dependent on my GPS and will be working through that. This means, I’ll have to allow myself to get lost a few times. I’ve also realized that I suddenly don’t care if my fat upper arms are showing. It’s too stinkin hot to be worrying about such silliness. 

The last couple of weeks have been more difficult. I’ve been dealing with a lot of my own insecurities and trying to figure out how to work through them. I feel like I’m being humbled in a way with which I wasn’t really prepared.

I am still looking for work, but I know that I know that I know how faithful our God is to me. In the meantime, it means trying to take in a whole new city, with lots of things to do all over the place, with very little resources.

Every weekend, I’m fortunate to have several churches to visit. That has been great. I’m able to see various types of worship styles, sometimes all in the same service! There is so much diversity here which is what I’m most thankful for right now. It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to drive within a few miles and find so much variety in food, art, and people.

I’m not kidding when I say this post has taken me two weeks to write… I started it and then just let it sit on my desktop, open, ignored. Workin through it, y’all. I’m working through it. =]

In the meantime, I crave your prayers to find work and my sanity!

Now that I’ve made this “first post breakthrough” – I hope to be able to come with some more regular, normal stuff, that isn’t all about my drammaaaaa! 😉

2 thoughts on “And then, BAM! I live in Texas.

  1. I too have been waiting for this first post! If I had known it was on your desktop I would have done it for you! LOL I have so much faith in you and know everything in your life will be wonderful! I am so proud that you have stepped out of your shell and blossomed into a wonderful woman! So brave! Cannot wait to see what is next!

Leave a Reply

