Jesus is all we need, right?

“You don’t need another human being to make your life complete, but let’s be honest. Having your wounds kissed by someone who doesn’t see them as disasters in your soul, but fractures to put their love into is the most calming thing in this world.” ~ Emery Allen

A friend shared this quote with me last week. When she did, she also said, “I thought this was a good quote especially for my single friends who keep being told “Jesus is all you need”, as if Jesus doesn’t meet our needs through other people. Like he generally provides actual tangible food (not just spiritual food) to keep us from starving, he generally meets other needs in the physical realm too. So why do we get told our other physical and emotional needs should be satisfied fully in the spiritual realm?”

It’s been sticking with me ever since I saw it because, well… it’s true. My married friends, and some singles, too.. will often make comments about how Jesus is everything we need. And, before anyone gets twisted… I KNOW that I have no needs He cannot meet. I know that He is in complete control. I know that He walks with me in my deepest and darkest places. I know that He rejoices with me. He does always provide for me. always.

Should I remain single forever, Jesus will somehow find a way to meet that need in me. I know that.

That doesn’t mean, though, that I’m not longing for someone. That doesn’t mean it’s bad to desire physical contact. That doesn’t mean that I give up my dreams to find my love of a lifetime because Jesus is all I need.

486f76888d108a2097ca05ad77e01f9e

I do need Jesus. He is the very thing that I need. And because of Him, I have the strength to endure this waiting period. This very long season of singleness. This heart-crushing reality that “it” may never happen for me. 

Friends, please don’t lose hope. Don’t let someone make you feel bad for wanting more. Don’t allow someone to make you feel as if you’re not being a “good, Godly person” because you’re in need of something more.

Leave a Reply

