Serenity – OneWord 2014

Well, it’s that time of year. The time when I reveal the word. You know – THE word. The one that God planted on my heart.

As with every year I’ve done this, I had one word in mind, but this morning – in the wee hours when I couldn’t sleep – God gave me His word. It was similar to “my” word, but it’s different.

Because it’s His word.

Throughout 2013, mostly the last six months or so, but really through the whole year, I have felt a stirring. I was waiting for a change. Something big was gonna happen. It was like I was in a constant state of “now what?” or “what’s next?” or “where am I going?”

I considered moving – again. Changing jobs. Not “doing” ministry. Changing churches. I have just felt unrest in my soul.

I feel like there is a change, a really big one, on the horizon, and I just need to be ready for it. Well, you know what that means, right? It means that I’m just unsettled. I’m not content. I’m not calm. I’m not resting. I feel like I’m standing on my tip toes at the edge of a cliff. Let me tell you – that is NOT a good way to live.

Galatians 5: 22-23 (MSG) says, “But what happens when we live God’s way? He brings gifts into our lives, much the same way that fruit appears in an orchard—things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity. We develop a willingness to stick with things, a sense of compassion in the heart, and a conviction that a basic holiness permeates things and people. We find ourselves involved in loyal commitments, not needing to force our way in life, able to marshal and direct our energies wisely.”

What stood out to me about this scripture was this… when we live God’s way, He brings us affection for others, exuberance about life, and serenity. We develop a willingness to stick with things. We have loyal commitments. We can direct our energies wisely.

So, if I’m ready to live life the way God calls me to do it, He’s going to bring me peace and serenity. He’s going to allow me to direct my energies in a way that aren’t all over the place and looking for the “what’s next” but sitting comfortably in the “right now.”

serenity

I’m desperate for some serenity in my life. God is asking me to focus on finding it through the next year.

What’s your word for the year? Share it with me so we can work on them together!

2 thoughts on “Serenity – OneWord 2014

  1. Pingback: slip (courtesy of oneword.com) | Stories in 5 Minutes

  2. Pingback: I surrender all… | unfolding lovely

Leave a Reply

