Why not me?

So, here I was… driving to work. Winding my way through Snickers Gap of the Blue Ridge Mountains – watching the sun rise over the top of the mountains, the clouds scattering like perfect artwork along the bright blue sky – and I just marvel at God’s beautiful work.

I’m amazed that He does this very thing for us every morning. We can look all around – in every corner of creation – and see Him.

Until we look in the mirror.

Then we don’t see His beauty anymore. His perfect creation.

We see imperfection. We see mistakes. We see bad – ugly – wrong – too big – too small – too curly – too straight.

Song of Solomon 4:7   You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.

Genesis 1:31 And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good. And there was evening and there was morning, the sixth day.

Psalms 139:14   I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.

Ephesians 2:10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

Colossians 3:12  Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience,

1 Thessalonians 5:5 For you are all children of light, children of the day. We are not of the night or of the darkness.

1 John 3:1  See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that bit did not know him.

Is the very God, who created everything, wrong? Did He make just one mistake – me? Do I doubt what He has for me, in His time? How can I read the words breathed by Him and still look in the mirror with disgust?

Who am I to judge His handiwork? Who am I to say that what He’s made is not good – that, in fact, it’s very, very bad? Who am I to look to someone else to give me value and worth?

He, the Creator of ALL things, is perfect.

I’m telling myself, and you, that we are good! We are beauty! We are lovely! We are HIS! We don’t need to look any further.

In a constant effort to believe these things, I need to be on my face before God – asking Him to fill me up with His love, assurance, confidence, and strength. I can’t do this on my own and you can’t either.

He is relentlessly pursuing all of me. I want Him to know that I am thankful for all things He’s given me – the sunrise over the mountains, a job to pay my bills, and even my fat thighs.

IMG_1844

Leave a Reply

